SiouxSports.com Forum

Football Jersey/Helmet Discussion

Siouxperfan7

Looking at some of other "Dakota School" friends, I notice that they have secondary helmet options.  SDSU is haveing a new one this week.  Other Valley schools as well.  Would be nice to see UND with a secondary helmet. I can't find the pic, but UND used to have a silver helmet with a stripe down the middle with a green ND on it.  Something like that that is like a throwback to a past helmet would be great.  

SDSU.jpg

NDSU.jpg

USD1.jpg

• Upvote 1

I'm no artist so I can only try to explain my concept:

• Green base helmet.
  • Just the white hawk with black shadowing on neck from the logo (no ND from behind it). 

Make the hawk cover 80-90% of the side of the helmet, beak starting at the "helmet corner" above the wearer's eye.
Most of the helmet would end up white, on a green base, because the logo is so big on the side.  

9 minutes ago, The Sicatoka said:

I'm no artist so I can only try to explain my concept:

• Green base helmet.
  • Just the white hawk with black shadowing on neck from the logo (no ND from behind it). 

Make the hawk cover 80-90% of the side of the helmet, beak starting at the "helmet corner" above the wearer's eye.
Most of the helmet would end up white, on a green base, because the logo is so big on the side.  

I made a mockup in the nickname thread awhile back.  Was able to find it.  So, something like this (maybe a slighly bigger hawk like you said)?! :)

helmet.jpg

• Upvote 1

That's the concept but with the logo at least double in size from shown: 
- the "neck feathers" end up by the back collar of the helmet
- the beak moves a little more forward and down toward the mask. 
- the black shading ends up going below ear hole 

Cover more of the side of the helmet than the SDSU bunny does in the picture above. 

And I'm glad you have art skills. :) 

12 hours ago, Siouxperfan7 said: