SiouxSports.com Forum

Future of the MBB Program

UND Alum

They’ve got to move on from Sather ASAP. He’s had time to get his recruits in and they simply are not good enough. I’ve spoken with an assistant coach from another Summit league team who thinks UND has the weakest in-conference roster he’s seen during his tenure. 0-8 in the conference is embarrassing for our school. 

I’m really missing the days of Crandall, Hooker, Stewart, etc…. What a fall from grace since Brian Jones left.

• Downvote 6

2 minutes ago, SiouxFan100 said:

I am not smart enough to know the answer but I know I don’t like these types of threads

Sorry. I am new to this but needed to get it off my chest and see what others are thinking. Hate to talk about a man’s job like that but it’s evident the talent recruiting is not there. 

• Downvote 5

Curious why he hasn't offered the Sem kid (So.) from North on a flier. Way better talent than Klabo (Fr.) from Davies who was offered by NDSU. Sem has some off the court issues but is better D1 prospect than 3/4 of the current roster.

17 minutes ago, iramurphy said:

It takes time and patience. Sather has a good resume. Those guys say you missed, were recruited by the last coach who people on this board wanted fired. Very few of the fans who call for the coach to be fired have an understanding about what it takes to build a successful program. Most of us aren’t going to give the kind of money it takes to turn things around quickly. We lost some nice players who transferred out. You dump Sather now, I would bet a lot of money we lose the best kid on this team and probably our best incoming recruit. I can see the lack of overall talent but I don’t believe the problem is the head coach. Even if we needed a change, ASAP would not be smart. Instead, we should be asking Chaves and Sather what else they need to turn this program around and what we can do to help.