Jump to content
SiouxSports.com Forum

Recommended Posts

Posted
1 minute ago, iramurphy said:

ICW turned it over 4 times. Poor special team play. Missed open receivers. Missed opportunities.  Miller carried the team with his run game when they needed him. Bison won a game when they weren’t playing their best. I didn’t see who recovered the fumble but refs were sure of the call the one I disagreed with was the TD pass but I could be wrong. ICW lost a game they could/should have won. Bison won one they could/should have lost. More than refs I thought ICW had too many unforced errors and missed opportunities. 

Of course the refs were sure of the call. Just because they were sure doesn’t mean they are competent and made the correct call. They certainly had a number of missed opportunities but that doesn’t absolve the officials mistake. 

Posted
6 minutes ago, rochsioux said:

Or, better run cause you can’t pass. 1-12 :0

Or keep them honest haha, seriously NDSU struggles the most where they cannot get the run game going. Also every quarterback they (NDSU) starts is a dual threat and against the good teams the qb runs are called more. 

Posted

Although you would sure think MSU or SDSU would for sure force Miller to beat them with his arm. But even then not sure anybody can.....it's ridiculous. The Bison had more passing yards in the mid 80's when they ran the option than tonight. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, UND Football Fan said:

Or keep them honest haha, seriously NDSU struggles the most where they cannot get the run game going. Also every quarterback they (NDSU) starts is a dual threat and against the good teams the qb runs are called more. 

Couldn't believe it on the 4th quarter....Word played man to man....with no spy.....so Miller easily runs it for 29 yards. 

Posted

Scary thing is....the Bison gonna roll to a Championship. Wait until they get another QB again that can run and throw.....these semifinal games will be NDSU blowouts. 

Posted
29 minutes ago, SlowHand said:

Except that is was the correct call.  The announcers should pay more attention.

 

What was the correct call?  It was obviously a fumble and Incarnate Word recovered it?  What part of that was incorrect?

  • Upvote 3
Posted
34 minutes ago, UND1983 said:

Who recovered the ball?

I believe the refs thought #49 for NDSU recovered it....in looking at the replay I am not sure #49 even knew the ball was loose initially. The Bison RB and UIW player looked like they had a brief battle for the ball underneath him and the UIW player ended up with the ball.

Posted
5 hours ago, skateshattrick said:

Kennedy was forced out at Colorado, so he was exposed as the bumbling incompetent that he was at UND

Still bitter about the womens hockey team???? Get over it the university is much better off now with those hard decisions he made. Kennedy may be one of the best presidents we have ever had!

Posted
54 minutes ago, SlowHand said:

Except that is was the correct call.  The announcers should pay more attention.

 

Even that noted Bison hater Phil Hanson said it was a bad call. Said definitely a fumble.  Could maybe debate the recovery. 

Posted
7 minutes ago, SlowHand said:

The call on the field was a fumble recovered by the offense.  After the whistle the UIW player pulled the ball out from 49 and the other NDSU player.  

The replay confirmed all of the above.   

49 never had the ball. Like ever. 

  • Upvote 1
Posted
3 minutes ago, SlowHand said:

Side judge ruled #49 recovered and had possession at that point he was immediately down by contact before UIW player ripped the ball free while both were laying on the ground.

I just watched it about 10 more times.  49 was laying on the ball and ruled down by contact.

 

I haven't watched it again, but is just laying on a ball possession? Thought you had to be in control of the ball....not just laying on it. 

  • Upvote 1
Posted
1 minute ago, SlowHand said:

Side judge ruled #49 recovered and had possession at that point he was immediately down by contact before UIW player ripped the ball free while both were laying on the ground.

I just watched it about 10 more times.  49 was laying on the ball and ruled down by contact.

 

He may have been laying on the ball (not sure that is true).  But, both of 49 hands are visible when the ICW player is starting to pull the ball.  It did not look like 49 ever had control of the ball and in order to be down by contact you have to have control of the ball.  Based on the video presented in the game.  It looked like a fumble and ICW recovered the ball.  Maybe another angle will show something different, but video of the play and the replay do not show NDSU recovering the ball IMO.

  • Upvote 2
Posted
2 minutes ago, Sioux94 said:

I haven't watched it again, but is just laying on a ball possession? Thought you had to be in control of the ball....not just laying on it. 

Agree - laying on the ball is not control.  Without control - No down by contact.

Posted
8 minutes ago, SlowHand said:

Side judge ruled #49 recovered and had possession at that point he was immediately down by contact before UIW player ripped the ball free while both were laying on the ground.

I just watched it about 10 more times.  49 was laying on the ball and ruled down by contact.

 

49 had no idea where the ball was and never had possession of the fumble. Not much use in using replay when they can’t get a critical game changing play correct. The Bison sure thought they got away with one as they were hurrying to get a play off before it could be stopped for review. Why would you do that if you knew you recovered the ball? Wouldn’t you want to run more time off the clock?

After further review, the ruling has been confirmed…the officials are incompetent. 

Posted
8 minutes ago, SlowHand said:

This is exactly when the whistle blew.  Show me which UIW player has the ball.

 

FkJnyKSUoAAWVcq?format=jpg&name=large

Well 49 sure doesn't have the ball, he is just laying on it. Nobody has control at this point....it should still be a live ball. You can't see the one arm of the UIW player, he may have a hand on the ball and be more in control of the ball than 49. 

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...