SiouxSports.com Forum

Poll: Keep or Cut Women's Hockey

bincitysioux

Keep or Cut: Women's Hockey  

124 members have voted

1. 1. Should the University of North Dakota Continue to Sponsor Women's Hockey?

• I Support the Sponsorship of Women's Hockey
    • I Support Eliminating the Women's Hockey Program

I challenge someone to explain why the sport is considered boring and if you use physicality please explain to me how UND minny games are more physical than some mens games and how its ok to cut a sport just cause you dont like it.. some folks in atlantic hockey prefer football yet some of those schools still have hockey

I will be honest when I was a freshman at UND in 2004 I went to women's hockey games because they played the Pixar shorts during intermission. The team was TERRIBLE although I did really like the Wooster sisters (was that their name?). I was sad when they left. Over the next four years I continued attending games because my buddy was a big fan as a new hockey fan. The game grew on me. I enjoy the games as have gone back as an alumni when I am in town to watch. I support these ladies in the fullest.

37 minutes ago, siouxnami said:

I think this is insulting to these athletes and condescending to the University of North Dakota. I fully support these women.

I agree. My daughter plays for Concordia. She has worked her butt off to get to where she is. Athletes like anyone else. Love watching them play and it's her senior year. Bittersweet. To answer the question yes women's hockey should always stay at UND. 

13 minutes ago, MDtoGF said:

I challenge someone to explain why the sport is considered boring and if you use physicality please explain to me how UND minny games are more physical than some mens games and how its ok to cut a sport just cause you dont like it.. some folks in atlantic hockey prefer football yet some of those schools still have hockey