SiouxSports.com Forum

Why does UND Hockey mean so much to You?

OETKB

I haven't posted much in the past few years. I've been busy with family and career, and most of what I am thinking is reflected by others who post regularly. But lately, I've been pondering the question - why does UND Hockey mean so much to me?

I have not lived in ND for 20 years, since I graduated UND in 1992, And, I have had many opportunities to witness big time pro sports moments in the cities I have lived in since (Gary Payton's Seattle Sonics vs. Michael Jordan's Bull's in the NBA finals is just one example). However, nothing has ever come close to the importance that UND Hockey has in my life. Why would that be?

Some obvious reasons come to mind, given my circumstances of growing up in Grand Forks. I had the priveledge of attending all home games throughout my childhood, because my parents always had season tickets. I got to witness some of the team's national championships live, which adds to the personal sense of pride in any fan. And, the community does support the hockey team in a way that is special, almost unique.

However, that is not the whole story. Something more keeps people like me tuned in, finding a webcast or a pay-cable channel to allow us to see every possible game every season. Something timeless is required.

That connection can only continue to exist if a program keeps a tradition that means something. UND Hockey has that. It had it back then, and it has it now. UND Hockey is one of the only things that has stayed constant through all of the changes throughout my life, one of the only things that still exists that is just as good, maybe better, than it was when I was young. Through decades of time, the magic that is UND Hockey continues, and it means the world to me.

Your thoughts?