SiouxSports.com Forum

UMD Bulldogs

Sioux27

I, too, would like to congratulate the University of Minnesota-Duluth Bulldogs for pulling off a fantastic upset in Allendale, Michigan, where it's no easy place to play as Fighting Sioux fans well know. Congratulations for representing the former North Central Conference and the current NSIC as well. You can believe that as a Fighting Sioux graduate I will be pulling for the Bulldogs to go all the way. For those who want a blog for the game go to the Duluth News-Tribune to see how the game evolved. Bulldog defense held the Lakers to a pair of early field goals while scoring a first half TD themselves for a 7-6 Bullodg halftime advantage. Then the Dogs scored but missed the PAT to make it 13-6. Very late in the game the Lakers scored, made the extra point and tied it 13-13 to send it into overtime. After a scoreless first overtime the Dogs put it in the end zone but again missed the PAT. Dogs stopped the Lakers on their second try in overtime to win the game 19-13 to earn a whole bunch of respect from this NCC-NSIC fan. Go Bulldogs!!!

I saw the game via the Grand Valley station and both defenses just kicked ass.

UMD ran the ball really good in the 1st half but didnt do squat the 2nd half

GVSU didnt do much at all in the first half...their QB at one point was 2 for 11

2nd half the defenses took over....but at the end it you could see the refs might have wanted GVSU to score.....couple cheap penalties near the end.

The GVSU kicker missed 3 FG's including one in OT

But it was a great game...even better when UMD got the interception at the end

It was great to hear "he passes....intercepted and that's the end of the Lakers season" from the GVSU announcers :glare: