SiouxSports.com Forum

Wild Draft Parise?

747Guy

Would that be good in terms of Parise staying longer?

I think so because the Wild have a pretty low payroll. I don't forsee them throwing a large amount of money at Parise in the near future. He'll probably stay around another 2 years or so. Can we count on him staying all four? IMHO, no. I think it will be a David Hale type situation.

The Wild don't seem to be in a rush to move ahead their young talent. It would seem Bouchard and Gaborik are talents so exceptional they were able to make a contribution at a young age. I'm no expert but from my perspective they seem willing to bring players along slowly. Plus, the Houston team has a number of young talented players on it, so they are not lacking there either. Just my guess.

This is Shooter we are talking about...the only difference between him and Sid is Shooter actually went to college :glare:

No offense but I still dont like this pick for the Wild. The Wild need big power forwards not more undersized playmakers. I am not knocking Parise I just dont think he fits the needs the Wild have. They lack size, something Parise is lacking.

Would that be good in terms of Parise staying longer?

I think the Wild don't really have one trend over the other. There are instances in which they have been more patient and a few instances in which they did the opposite.

For instance, if you look at Bouchard, I don't see him as being far superior to Parise. Bouchard is physically even smaller than Parise is and I would gather they are relatively similar in regards to hockey sense and skill..... the Wild felt Bouchard was ready to play NHL last year so it is possible they may feel similar about Parise.

I would also say that unlike some NHL teams, the Wild seem more open to bringing smaller players into the lineup at a faster pace.