SiouxSports.com Forum

UND alum blasts Kupchella

PCM

There's a letter to the editor in today's Grand Forks Herald from a UND alumnus in Des Moines, Iowa, named Joe Proctor. He takes Kupchella to task for failing to lead UND into the ranks of DI.

My business travel sometimes extends into North Dakota. Since I am a UND graduate, the topic of conversation often centers on the comparison between UND and North Dakota State University. Unfortunately, from UND's standpoint, the general perception is that NDSU is moving forward, and UND is slipping backward. Probing deeper it is clear that this perception stems from the difference in leadership at the president's level. NDSU President Joseph Chapman is out leading the charge while UND President Charles Kupchella is directing the retreat.

There's a letter to the editor in today's Grand Forks Herald from a UND alumnus in Des Moines, Iowa, named Joe Proctor. He takes Kupchella to task for failing to lead UND into the ranks of DI.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I will do a little homework - it will be interesting to see if Mr. Proctor is a financial supporter in the UND Athletic Department. If he has such strong feelings about this issue, he better be able and willing to write a pretty big check each year to support a DI program.

As a result I may need to reconsider my donations to athletics, because there is no net gain to athletics.
Considering the amount of cash it takes to go/be D1, this seems like a patently stupid action.

We need a president who understands the people of North Dakota and can regain respect for UND as the preeminent university in the state and the region.

I never knew UND was in danger of slipping below the residents' collective radar. If anything, Kupchella's fight the past few weeks over the name/logo seems to have boosted the school's stature in the region, and nationally.