SiouxSports.com Forum

KRACH predicts the NCAA tournament

jimdahl

I've been doing this for about 5 years now and it's always fun...

KRACH predicts the NCAA tournament

But this year it's downright crazy. We've never seen the PWR-based tournament seeding and KRACH deviate so much.

* UND’s predicted 53% chance of winning the opening round game is lower than any 1 seed in the previous 4 years I’ve been doing this

* Union is even worse off, not even favored to win its 1 vs 4 matchup

* Similarly, 2 seed Minnesota is an underdog to 3 seed Boston University

* The largest line in any 2 vs 3 matchup is 54%-46%, Miami over Mass.-Lowell

If the autobids and KRACH were used to seed the tournament (and not accounting for conference match-ups, etc.):

BC v. USAFA

Maine v. BU

Mich v. Union

WMU v. Minnesota

UND v. NMU

UMD v. DU

Miami v. Mich St

FSU v. UMLowell

Better?

KRACH does a nice job of putting numbers to it. I know if the Gophers beat BU, UND, BC, then Michigan in route to the title they will have earned it.

Yep, region of death. Minnesota's chances of winning it all, per KRACH, are lower than all the 3 seeds (BU, Maine, Mass.-Lowell, and Denver). Only Air Force, Union (a 1-seed!), and Cornell stand a lower chance of winning it all.

In the KRACH vs. PWR comparison, there's no more stand-out difference than Union this year. #3 and a strong 1-seed in PWR, #15 and not even favored to win its 1 vs. 4 opener by KRACH (though just barely).

Unfortuantely, a single sample won't really tell us much, but you can bet a lot of people armed with KRACH bet against Union in their office pools.

Yep, it all depends on whether or not you feel KRACH or PWR does a better job of choosing a representative field of 16. I think more "numbers guys" lean toward KRACH as it is completely objective.

How is the PWR not objective? It's completely numbers. They just choose different numbers.