SiouxSports.com Forum

Fighting against "Fighting Sioux"

Riverman

See news paper--> The Brookings Register (online edition) By John Andrews

Could someone please link the article.I am a newbie at this.. :0

The best quote she said: "Whether the elders were speaking for all Lakota Dakota in the state is doubtful"

Ironic that she should "speak" for all the Eric Enno's and "Sioux"supporters of the nickname. :D

just my .02's worth

-----I am going to warn you in advance I may get up on a soap box here so bear with me!!!---- I am sure you heard this all before so here I go.....

I really hate it when people feel that just because they are a member of a certain group they can speak for it as a whole. I know that there are individuals who feel negatively towards the nickname, but there is a larger silent majority that feels positively towards the name.

Every one is entitled to their own opinion but to try to speak for an entire ethnic group is just plain crazy. If all Native Americans were against the nickname there wouldnt be people speaking out for it!

I personally think the "Fighting Sioux" nickname is paying homage to the Native American heritage of the state. While some may use the name in a disrespectful manner that is more often than not aimed at the team not a Native Americans it represents. If I say "Gophers Suck" it does not mean that I have negative feelings for all the worlds small fuzzy gophers, it simply means that I feel the Gopher Hockey team is Sup-par.

I don't pretend to speak for all people at UND or any other group, I simply state my opinion. And If you opinion differs from mine that is OK. But state it as YOUR opinion not that of an entire group.

-Sorry about the rant!

I just look at it as venting really. You see, if the people of the world had nothing to complain about because everything in the world was perfect, I firmly believe they'd invent something to complain about. Or they would suffer massive brain trauma and go insane.