SiouxSports.com Forum

Canada to host back to back WJC

WiSioux

Canada will host back-to-back world junior hockey championships beginning in 2009.

Hockey Canada was awarded the 2010 tournament at the International Ice Hockey Federation general congress meeting on Friday after no other countries bid for the event.

Canada Awarded back-to-back World Jr's

I did not attend the World Juniors when they were in Grand Forks (as I was a stupid freshman and didn't realize how AWESOME they'd be) but I thought from all that I have read that The Ralph did a fantastic job hosting... just wondering if anyone has any opinions on why no other country would have submitted a bid... I'm all for bringing the World Juniors back to Grand Forks!

I did not attend the World Juniors when they were in Grand Forks (as I was a stupid freshman and didn't realize how AWESOME they'd be) but I thought from all that I have read that The Ralph did a fantastic job hosting... just wondering if anyone has any opinions on why no other country would have submitted a bid... I'm all for bringing the World Juniors back to Grand Forks!

I heard basically something about a cold day in hell.

must not be a very lucrative event

The story notes that the tourney will be in the U.S. in 2011, so I'm sure they were hoping for a European bidder. I'd love to see a combined Winnipeg-Grand Forks bid for the World Championships, but not sure Winnipeg would do it with the Moose being in the playoffs at that time of the year.

The story notes that the tourney will be in the U.S. in 2011, so I'm sure they were hoping for a European bidder. I'd love to see a combined Winnipeg-Grand Forks bid for the World Championships, but not sure Winnipeg would do it with the Moose being in the playoffs at that time of the year.

Is this tournament being moved from the normal dates of late December/Early January?