SiouxSports.com Forum

Sioux Legend Gene Murphy passes away

iramurphy

First meet Gene Murphy back in the early 80's, he was a guest speaker for a couple of Father and Son Banquet's at the Elks Club in Grand Forks. Coach Gene Murphy was one of a kind, truly Inspirational, a Great Ambassador for the Fighting Sioux, He loved Sport and was a Fierce Competitor, never backed away from any challenge. He was well respected and loved by many, he will be truly missed. My thoughts and prayers go out to all his family and friends. Today we lost one of the best, may he rest in peace.

CEXQDVXJFCEJAGV.20090729212135.jpg

UND Coaches Olson, Helling, Murph, (front row) RT, Muss (back row)

• Upvote 1

I knew Gene when I was a student involved with football at UND, he had a wit about him and always a smile on his face - totally the cat that ate the canary smile. I was in the locker room the game he held a bison bobblehead and used it as a prop during his pre-game speech - let's say the bobblehead was worse for the wear after that speech. He and Pat Berns made a great set of assistant coaches.

• Upvote 1

Nice articles coming out of LA. Many comments form his Titan players and Titan family similar to what we hear from his Fighting Sioux family. Google Gene Murphy for articles.

The list of coaches who played or coached under Gene Murphy is impressive. Army head coach Rich Ellerson, Northwestern Asst Jerry Brown, Jim Chaney former Purdue Asst, Rob Bollinger, Dale Lennon, Roger Thomas, and Pat Behrns of UND and UNO.

Raiders former head coach Tom Cable, present Raiders coach Hue Jackson, former 49ers and Lions head coach Stever Mariucci. 49ers asst. Ed Donatell, former Titans asst. the late Mike Heimerdinger (wonder what nickname Murph had for him).