SiouxSports.com Forum

USHL Draft

spfreak

Tri City took Matt Lundin I believe although it says Matt Lindin. If that is Matt Lundin why did he leave Maine? He was a freshman and would likely get a lot of time next year (if Howard leaves). Maybe he just wasn't happy there.

That's what I was wondering. I guess with the fact that he got taken first overall says that he will likely not play at Shattuck, unless Des Moines decided to pull a Tri City American maneuver with Okposo in Toews place. :D

I'm no expert on these drafts but it seems strange that a team would take a very high pick on a player unless they thought he was going to play for them. Means nothing but seeing Okposo, Marto, Dowzak et al taken so highly makes me think these guys are more than "flyers" that the drafting team HOPES they will get for next year.

It's surprising to me to see guys like Dowzak and Okposo leaving Shattuck early for the USHL.

Congrats to Marto - he was picked before some very highly regarded D - namely Olimb and Hummel.

Hopefully my cousin and some other MHD players get picked up. I'm surprised nobody jumped on Cory Johnson, I think he would be a very good player in the USHL.

Thats Nice jloos

Whos your Cousin again ?

Did he get drafted yet ?

This is all new to me - But Fun & interesting

How high in the draft have other UND(present & past), former USHL players, been drafted ?

Jordan Willert from Minot hs was taken 153 to tri city.

Jacques Lamoureaux from Bismarck NAHL was taken 138 to sioux falls.

No moorhead players taken?? kinda wierd

A couple jets players taken in Trevor Bruess and Creighton Scarpone. Taken 48th and 50th respectively.

I searched the GF Herald site for "Marto" to see if there was a story about the USHL draft, and I found that the kid must indeed be a heck of an athlete. In the last week, these are the mentions in the paper:

May 6: Jake Marto had three hits and Brandon Kreitinger got the complete-game victory in Game 2.