SiouxSports.com Forum

Exploritory Year

4siouxnow

Can someone explain to me exactly what the exploritory year is and what all it entails, does this mean there is a commitment to go DI, or does it still leave options open?

Would we still compete in D2? If this is the decision for this comming year does it count on the 5 year transiton, even though schedules I'm sure are done and would be virtually a D2 schedule.

When and if we go D1 will it be an issue with the nickname, and scheduling, for example I know the liberal U of I would not schedule the Sioux. I think there are alot more of these liberal wacko U's at the d1 level.

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm no expert but as far as I know the exploratory year is the first year of the five year trasition. We would still be considered DII, and still be members of the NCC, it'd be our last year in the NCC. We would count as DII to any DI opponents. 2003 was NDSU's exploratory year, their last year in the NCC and DII. I'm sure IowaBison could explain it alot better.

Can someone explain to me exactly what the exploritory year is and what all it entails, does this mean there is a commitment to go DI, or does it still leave options open?

Would we still compete in D2? If this is the decision for this comming year does it count on the 5 year transiton, even though schedules I'm sure are done and would be virtually a D2 schedule.

When and if we go D1 will it be an issue with the nickname, and scheduling, for example I know the liberal U of I would not schedule the Sioux. I think there are alot more of these liberal wacko U's at the d1 level.

It really doesn't mean much, as a school can choose to remain in its current classification at the year's end and can (would) play a DII schedule.