SiouxSports.com Forum

Bill Mills The Warrior

Bad Eagle

"I was constantly told and challenged to live my life as a warrior. As a warrior, you assume responsibility for yourself. The warrior humbles himself. And the warrior learns the power of giving." -- Billy Mills

This is the man who was offended when a airline steward referred to him as "Chief."

Mills the "warrior" will be at UND on April 1st.

Well, I'm glad to see my "Warrior" image is catching on. The Indian warrior image is the strongest image we have going for us. I've been advocating it as a political position for a few years now.

Feminists and feminis-led Indian males have all opposed it, but I initiated it and have advocated it on FrontPageMagazine and now on my own website, BadEagle.com.

Warriors don't cry about name calling. That's an American Negro political custom since the '60's. That's not an Indian thing. Indian mascot names and logos are not degrading or demeaning. That is a psycholgocial illusion, projected on to Indians by mistaken white leftists, using and misleading Indians into a degraded, cry-baby, weakling position. This is anything but

warriorhood.

Let's see what Mr. Mills has to say about the warrior image, "The Fighting Sioux." Anyone taking bets?

star2city Posted on Mar 10 2003, 10:22 PM

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I seem to remember the anti-Sioux name clique citing Billy Mills as an opponent of the Sioux name. Is this correct? 

How can anyone say anything bad about Billy Mills, he is an Icon. His Olympic victory is right up there with 1980 Hockey team in my book. His story has inspired many people.

Billy Mills is the man who was "offended" by a flight attendant who referred to him as "Chief." (SI article, March 4, 2002) The attendant did not know Mr. Mills is American Indian. The attendant referred to everyone in first class as "Chief."