SiouxSports.com Forum

U.S. News School Rankings

jimdahl

UND is holding pretty constant in tier 3 of National Universities, where it's been for many years. While all such rankings are rather arbitrary and showing up in tier 3 doesn't exactly beat a path to UND's door, it's nice to see UND does stack up relatively well against our regional and athletics peers. There may also be some hints that UND is outgrowing the NCC, by this measurement anyway.

Other schools of interest (culled manually, omissions unintentional):

WCHA

#32 UW

#66 UMN

#90 DU

#33 CC (liberal arts)

NCC

3rd tier USD

Recent NCC

3rd tier SDSU

4th tier NDSU

4th tier UNC

I don't mind making bold statements and getting flamed, but I will preface this with facts that I have been an undergrad and grad student at UND, I was a TA for 4 1/2 years, and I am from ND. I think if UND wants to be a more scholarly school, it needs to stop catering to ND people. I think the admission standards being raised is a good thing, and it shouldn't be easy for any ND person to get into UND. The professors are too leniant on students that make up excuses for things. It really doesn't matter how hard one worked in high school or what grades they got. I cannot believe how some people leave messages about how they expect a make-up exam to be approved, done exactly when they want it done, and then thank the professor or TA as if it is going to happen just because the student said so. Obviously this may be going on at other universities, but UND needs to decide what they really want to do. They can get high enrollment numbers by allowing everyone in, or they can try to become a better school. A college degree is something that you should have to earn, not have given to you. I would be happy to discuss any of this, but I will probably ignore most flames. :p

Princeton Review also has UND in the top-357, again.

Link