SiouxSports.com Forum

From the Pioneer...

Goon

Would guess he's in a tutoring program to complete whatever he didn't get done the last semester. Wonder how Lucia will handle this, although it's only USCHO gopher fan posters who have said that Lucia would not give Welch another chance if he didn't do the work.

Would guess he's in a tutoring program to complete whatever he didn't get done the last semester. Wonder how Lucia will handle this, although it's only USCHO gopher fan posters who have said that Lucia would not give Welch another chance if he didn't do the work.

I say hey, let the kid play if he can get/remain elgible, I know most coaches around the country are sticklers for grades and that kind of stuff but If I was the coach I'd still let him play. In fact If I was a coach (and I am not) I wouldn't care as long as they could keep the Minimum standard needed to compete. I remember my old college coach saying go to calls do your work, strive to get grades over C's, he went on to say that when you go to a job interview and they ask you what your grades are and you tell them you got all C's in intro level class who are you going to hire. I probably hire the one with the good grades. It is a matter of Pride.

I have seen some things such as these in college sports, where a player from a college team was given favor over other non-student athletes, on the sole fact that just because they are jocks/jockets but I have also seen other teachers being tougher on kids just because they are jocks. So it works both ways.

Let face it not all of these kids are genisues, #### it won't matter in 2-4 years anyways. Ever listen to any of these guys in press conferences after NCAA games (especially basketball and football players) some of them are not the brightest but they can sure play college sports. Eventually it comes out in the end, but look at the positives.