Jump to content
SiouxSports.com Forum

Four to move to the NSIC


Recommended Posts


The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Athletic Conference announced this afternoon that four current North Central Conference members, Augustana, Minnesota State, Minnesota Duluth and St. Cloud State, will begin play in the NSIC beginning in the 2008-09 school year.

Augustana, St. Cloud, UM-Duluth and UM-Mankato all have been accepted into the NSIC.

That leaves Omaha the only school without a home at the moment.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

I know this queston should probably be posted in the D-I thread, but why set a core group as the new D-I North Central Conference?

North Dakota/NDSU/South Dakota/South Dakota State??

Just a thought.

I'm not sure of the specifics but in addition to the normal waiting period for a team to be eligible for D1 post-season play a new CONFERENCE has much more arduous waiting period for eligibility.

North Dakota and South Dakota would both be smart to play as independents for the next 3 or 4 years, apply for membership into the Mid-Continent and simply turn THAT conference into the NCC of D1!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...