SiouxSports.com Forum

UND Athletic Dept.

ESPNInsider

So what's the deal with the athletic department? Why is so much money being lost when we are getting the biggest crowds in UND history?

IMO the REA has way to much say in everything that goes on. I know it is hard to hear this and say this but it has been bad for every sport but hockey. The AD job at UND is not an enviable position as you have little-to-no say in what goes on, as you are bound by the REA. There needs to be a major overhaul at that place within personell and figure out what the hell is going on. Why are we losing money? What needs to change?

UND is a first-class institution with great athletics. We are the envy of most DII schools and no doubt some DIs. Some things, though, need to be changed so that the ath. dept. isn't losing money like this each year! I'm no expert, but when you are losing that kind of money I know something is wrong!

The UND athletic dept. lost over $400,000 for the 2003-2004 academic fiscal year. I don't have the numbers for attendance although, I'm sure it could be looked up, but I'm quite certain these past few years have been much larger attendance-wise then in the past! Looking at the REA thing, look how much money is brought in with suite revenue, merchandise, etc.

Sorry, hope that helps.

I am well aware of the fact that UND is looking for an AD right now and my guess is this is the reason why a Purpur or other big-time candidates did not apply. We have the finest facilities in DII bar-none, some of the best teams, great alumni support, yet the position just doesn't seem to be highly sought after.

There are 18 sports at UND. How many make money? Maybe three? I can easily see how money could be an issue in that environment. What do the books say for this year?

Where's this coming from today? Something had to have triggered this. Tell us what.

Purpur applied and then pulled back. Why? I was told Stanford showed him the money to keep him.